

ANNAMARIE OSMENT, MONROE COUNTY CLERK/REGISTER
Early Voting in Monroe County





Key constitutional changes to elections with Proposal 2022-2:

- Created a fundamental right to vote.
- Requires prepaid postage for absentee ballot applications and absentee ballots.
- Requires local clerks to install and maintain at least one absent ballot drop box for every 15,000 registered voters.
- Allows a voter to request an absentee ballot for all future elections with one application.

- Requires at least 9 days of early voting in statewide and federal elections.
- Allows a voter to use photo ID or sign an affidavit to verify their identity when voting.
- Requires a state system to track absentee ballot applications and ballots – must allow voters to opt in to receive notifications.
- Requires MOVE absentee ballots postmarked on or before election day received within 6 days after the election to be counted.

Constitutional Requirements for Early Voting



What does the Michigan Constitution require for early voting?

- Early voting (EV) in all statewide and federal elections.
- EV is optional in non-statewide elections.
- Voters at EV sites have same rights and requirements as election day polling precincts.
- EV sites **may** serve voters from multiple precincts and municipalities within a county.
- EV sites subject to same requirements as election day precincts except for limits on number of voters.
- EV sites must be opened for at least 9 days starting on the second Saturday before the election.

- EV sites must be open at least 8 hours each day.
- EV ends the Sunday before election day.
- The election official responsible for the EV site **may** open the EV site for additional days and hours.
- Municipalities within a county may work together and share an EV site.
- Municipalities within a county may authorize the county clerk to conduct EV.
- EV results are not generated or reported until after 8:00 pm on election day.

8-Bill Early Voting Legislation Package



Election bills signed on July 18, 2023:

 Early Voting 	PA 81 of 2023	(SB 367)
 Prepaid postage/signature cure 	PA 82 of 2023	(SB 370)
 Early voting penalties 	PA 83 of 2023	(HB 4696)
 Ballot tracking 	PA 84 of 2023	(SB 339)
 Drop boxes 	PA 85 of 2023	(HB 4697)
 Permanent mail ballot list 	PA 86 of 2023	(HB 4699)
Election ID definition	PA 87 of 2023	(SB 373)
 Precinct size 	PA 88 of 2023	(HB 4702)

Bills not given immediate effect – Effective on the 91st day after the legislature adjourns for the year



Early Voting Options



Early Voting Administration

All voters must have an EV site. Every municipality must do one of the following:

- Conduct EV as a **single municipality** as described in MCL 168.720e.
- Enter into a **municipal agreement** and **jointly conduct** EV with one or more municipalities within the same county as described in MCL 168.720f.
- Enter into a <u>county agreement</u> and authorize the county to conduct EV as described in MCL 168.720g.



Early Voting in Monroe County



What will EV look like in Monroe County?

- The County Clerk will not conduct EV through a county agreement for 2024.
- Most municipalities in Monroe County will conduct EV as a single municipality MCL 168.720e.
- Several municipalities will enter agreements and jointly conduct EV MCL 168.720f.





The following will conduct EV as a single municipality:

- Ash Township
- Bedford Township
- Berlin Charter Township
- City of Milan
- City of Monroe

- Frenchtown Charter Township
- Ida Township
- LaSalle Township
- Monroe Charter Township
- Whiteford Township



Monroe County Joint EV Municipalities



Municipalities jointly conducting EV:

- City of Petersburg and Summerfield Township
- Raisinville Township and
- Dundee Township and Milan
 Township

- Erie Township and City of Luna Pier
- London Township and
- Exeter Township





Presidential Primary – February 27, 2024 Election Day * Early voting Sat., 2/17/2024 – Sun., 2/25/2024.

August Primary Election – August 6, 2024 Election Day * Early voting Sat., 7/27/2024 – Sun. 8/4/2024

November General Election – November 5, 2024 Election Day * Early voting Sat. 10/26/2024 – Sun. 11/3/2024

2024 Early Voting Times



Municipality	Saturday	Sunday	Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday	Friday	Saturday	Sunday	Location
wancipancy	Saturuay	Junuay	IVIOITUAY	Tuesuay	weanesday	Thursday	Thuay	Saturuay	Sunday	120 E. 1 st Street,
City of Monroe	8 AM-4PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	84M-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	Monroe
City of Petersburg										
and Summerfield										24 E. Center Street,
Township	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	11 AM – 7 PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	Petesburg
Township					11/10/ //10/				7:00AM-	
City of Milan	7 AM-3 PM	7 AM-3 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8AM-4PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	7 AM-3	3:00PM	147 Wabash St., Milan
										, 1677 Ready Rd.,
Ash Township	8 AM–4 PM	8 AM–4 PM	8 AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	Carleton
										8100 Jackman Rd,
Bedford Township	8 AM-4PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	Temperance
Berlin Charter										10509 Brandon Road,
Township	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8AM-4PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	8 AM-4 PM	Newport
Erie Township and	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	7:30AM-	
City of Luna Pier	3:30PM	3:30PM	3:30PM	3:30PM	3:30PM	3:30PM	3:30PM	3:30PM	3:30PM	2065 Erie Rd, Erie
Frenchtown Charter	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	2744 Vivian Rd.,
Township	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	Monroe
Ida Township	8 AM-4 PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	3016 Lewis Ave., Ida
										4111 LaPlaisance,
LaSalle Township	6AM-2PM	6AM-2PM	6A-2PM	6AM-2PM	6AM-2PM	6AM-2PM	6AM-2PM	6AM-2PM	6AM-2PM	LaSalle
Monroe Charter	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	8:30AM-	4925 E. Dunbar Rd.,
Township	4:30PM	430PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	4:30PM	Monroe
Raisinville, Dundee,										96 Ida-Maybee Rd.,
and Milan Townships	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	Raisinville
Exeter and London										13613 Tuttlehill Road,
Townships	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8A-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	Milan
										9244 Whiteford Center
Whiteford Township	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	8AM-4PM	Rd.,(Fire Station)

Courtesy of Elizabeth Hundley

QUESTIONS & CONTACT US







Monroe County Clerk 734-240-7020



Monroe County Courthouse 106 East 1st Street Monroe, MI 48161